What This Blog is About Part 1

Good afternoon, everyone! I hope you all enjoyed looking my missions trip in Jamaica. I want to share something with you. I know some of you might be here for the first time and may be wondering whatn tr his blog is about. Allow me to explain.

3 John 2 says:

Dear friend, I hope all is well with you and that you are as healthy in body as you are strong in spirit. (NLT)

There is a connection between having a healthy body and having a strong spirit. I’m going to write about the healthy body part today. I believe that God wants us to take care of these bodies that he gave us. 1 Corinthians 6:19 says “Don’t you realize that your body is the temple of the Holy Spirit, who lives in you and was given to you by God? You do not belong to yourself.” We should treat our bodies the same way we would treat our house. We would not want to live in a messy or cluttered house. We must be mindfulness of what goes into our bodies since the Holy Spirit lives inside us.

I was not always the slim person I am today. I was overweight for most of my life. To those who know me personally, it’s no secret that I love to eat, but I ate alot of the wrong foods. During my undergraduate years was the worst. I payed no attention to what I ate or my portion sizes. I ate two cheeseburgers, fries, and ice cream for lunch nearly everyday. I had lots of junk food, especially chips and don’t get me started on cake and cookies. I was active and played football sometimes with my friends but my energy drained pretty quick.

When I graduated in 2006 I weighed 251, the heaviest I’d ever been. I felt awful especially after seeing pictures of myself. That was the wake up call. I had one too many people in my family who were either suffering from poor health or died from poor health. I knew I had to change.

At the time, my sister was going to a local gym called MAC Fitness and she gave me a visitor pass. One visit was all it took. I started going at least 3 days a week, spent a lot of time on that treadmill, and even had a personal trainer. That was the easier part. The food part was a struggle. I don’t believe in diets. I believe you can have your cake and eat it, too, just not everyday. I cut back on my fast food intake to once a week. I ate more fruit and yogurt to satisfy my sweet tooth. I started cooking more and bringing dinners to work. Chicken, broccoli, and sweet potatoes became my new best friends. I also payed more attention to my portion sizes. For instance, I measured my protein and starch portions to the size of my fist and filled the rest of the plate with vegetables.

Over the next 15 months I lost 65 pounds and I’m proud to say I’ve kept it off ever since. I went from a XXL to a large and lost six inches in my waist. I still have an old pair jeans to remind me of how far I’ve come. I’m thankful that my health has improved.

Before and After
Before and After

I don’t know if anyone here has any goals to improve their health, but I felt the need to share my story and I hope it encourages someone today. I want us all to be healthy in body as we are strong in spirit.

Tomorrow I will focus on the strong in spirit part of 3 John 2. Remember to take time today to thank God for a new day with new blessings and mercies.

Leave a Reply

