What This Blog is About – Part 2

Good afternoon, everyone Please read yesterday’s post, if haven’t already, prior to reading this one.

3 John 2 says:

Dear friend, I hope all is well with you and that you are as healthy in body as you are strong in spirit. (NLT)

Yesterday I focused on being healthy in body. Today I will focus on being strong in spirit.

If you look at the cross, there are two sticks. One is horizontal and the other is vertical. These represent two important relationships. The first is the vertical relationship with the Trinity and the second is the horizontal relationship with others. Mark 12:30-31 says to love God with all our heart, soul, mind, and strength and to love our neighbors, or simply people, as ourselves. We have to do it in that order. Our relationship with God will affect our relationships with others. If that one is strong, the others will be too.

James 5:13-16 says

Is anyone among you suffering? Let him pray. Is anyone cheerful? Let him sing psalms. Is anyone among you sick? Let him call for the elders of the church, and let them pray over him, anointing him with oil in the name of the Lord. And the prayer of faith will save the sick, and the Lord will raise him up. And if he has committed sins, he will be forgiven. Confess your trespasses to one another, and pray for one another, that you may be healed. The effective, fervent prayer of a righteous man avails much. (NKJV)

The first part deals with our relationship with God. When we are suffering with a problem we should go to God to receive help. Years ago I taught a youth group lesson on prayer and a student asked me why we need to pray if God already knows what we need. God wants us to acknowledge that we need His help. It’s like the 12 step program. The first step to recovery is admitting you have a problem. Once that happens, you’re able to get the help you need. God, being the good Father He is, will call attention to our problem but He won’t force His help on us. He stands at the door and knocks and if we hear His voice and open the door, then He comes in (Revelation 3:20).

Not only should we call on God in suffering but also sing to him in the good times. We should remember to give him thanks each day for who He is and what He’s done for us.

If there’s one thing I’ve learned about this walk, is that God never meant for us to walk alone. That’s why He wants us to call on the saints when we’re in times of trouble or hardship. He wants us to encourage each other through our words and testimonies of His goodness.

Last May when I first came to King’s Fire, my church home, a young man named Jared invited me to the men’s group. At the end of the meeting, it was opened up for prayer. At the time, I was dealing with alot of hurt, pain and brokenness because of the state of my schooling, my finances, and my marriage. I’m not one to say much and open up about my issues, but I couldn’t hold it in any longer. At that moment, I knew I needed help. I poured out everything that was on my heart and we all prayed together afterwards. That was the start of my healing process and I haven’t been the same since then. I look back on that moment, and I’m thankful that I’m not the broken person I was before. Those prayers availed much. I’ve found healing and forgiveness and it’s made me stronger.

Through our relationships with God and with people we become strong in spirit. We give thanks to God for all He’s done, we thank Him for the gift of Jesus, and we also draw strength from the testimonies of others which remind us of God’s goodness. When we are strong in our spirit that will have an impact on all the other areas of our lives, including our health. It all starts with that vertical relationship.

I hope this helps someone today. Remember to thank God for His new blessings and mercies.

Leave a Reply

