Life Is Short

Good afternoon, everyone! I hope everyone is enjoying this day and all the new blessings and mercies God has provided today.

There has been much death occurring lately. The national news has reported about a Virginia reporter and her cameraman who were fatal shot on live television and their gunman killing himself several hours later. In my neck of the woods, there were two auto accidents this week. One occurred Sunday killing a young man and the other yesterday killing four young men. As tragic as these events have been, it reminds us that this life we live is all too short. Tomorrow is not a guarantee, so we must take advantage of the moment we’re in.

This was something that my friends and I were talking about yesterday. Life is filled with moments and events that happen beyond our control. What we decide to do in those moments is up to us. We can either allow the moment to make us bitter or make us better. My friend Dan had mentioned the words of Psalm 90. Verse 10 says:

“The days of our lives are seventy years; And if by reason of strength they are eighty years, Yet their boast is only labor and sorrow; For it is soon cut off, and we fly away.” (NKJV)

I don’t know exactly how long I will live. I hope to be a ripe old age, but I don’t want to miss the life that I live now. Labor is necessary, of course, but I don’t want my whole life to revolve around it. I want to invest my time in the relationships I’m blessed with and also with the gifts that God has given me. I don’t want to come to the end of my life and think of all the things I could’ve done. I believe God wants us to take advantage of where we are right now. That’s why the psalmist went on to say in verse 12:

“So teach us to number our days, That we may gain a heart of wisdom.” (NKJV)

If we allow God to teach us how to live and embrace each moment, we will gain so much more. I think about those children I met in Jamaica that dwelled in an impoverished area of the city the team and I visited. They had little, but you could never tell that by interacting with them. They were so joyful and full of life. What happens to that when we transition into adulthood? Suddenly it’s all about the rat race. A wise man once said you can win the rat race but you’re still a rat.

I don’t know where you are in your stage of this life, but for me, I want this life to be full and I’m excited about the plan God has. He has a plan for every individual and wants for everyone to draw closer to him and to see their lives in his son Jesus Christ. That is where true fullness for this life lies.

Leave a Reply

