The Blood of Jesus

Good afternoon, everyone! I hope everyone is enjoying this beautiful day. God is so good. Thank him for another day and for providing new blessings and mercies. Cherish them today.

Last night, my church had a worship service. It was awesome giving God the praise for what he’s doing in our lives and also just for who he is. A young brother in the Lord named Jason gave a short message. A group of us met him the other day while we were out to eat. He had alot to say about the blood of Jesus. Jesus’ blood is from the Father and he shed it for us on the cross. When he ascended to heaven he went to the Holy of Holies and applied it to the mercy seat for all those who would to believe on him and make him Lord and savior over their lives. His blood covers our sin and makes us righteous before God. It was a powerful message.

Last night I woke up and was unable  to get back to sleep for a while. I listened to some music and then read from my bible app. At random I chose the first chapter of 1 Peter. There was a section that really stood out to me.

“Therefore gird up the loins of your mind, be sober, and rest your hope fully upon the grace that is to be brought to you at the revelation of Jesus Christ; as obedient children, not conforming yourselves to the former lusts, as in your ignorance; but as He who called you is holy, you also be holy in all your conduct, because it is written, “Be holy, for I am holy.””
I Peter 1:13-16 NKJV

Coming to Jesus and believing in him requires faith. In Jesus we are new creatures and no longer defined by our former lives. We are dead to our former works and we are not obligated to return to them. We very well can, but why would we since we’re set free? That’s why it says not to conform to the former lusts but to be holy. We must put our hope in God’s grace, because it is through his grace that we are saved and able to live the life he’s called us to. It all starts with that decision to believe. The battle of our minds can be tough and I know this first hand. Since rededicating my life to Jesus, I’ve had moments where I start identifying with the past failures. I have to remind myself that’s not who I am anymore. God is my Father, I am his son, and through Jesus I have a new life and identity. Yes, it’s good to remember what God brought you from, but that is not your identity anymore. Your identity is in Jesus.

“And if you call on the Father, who without partiality judges according to each one’s work, conduct yourselves throughout the time of your stay here in fear; knowing that you were not redeemed with corruptible things, like silver or gold, from your aimless conduct received by tradition from your fathers, but with the precious blood of Christ, as of a lamb without blemish and without spot. He indeed was foreordained before the foundation of the world, but was manifest in these last times for you who through Him believe in God, who raised Him from the dead and gave Him glory, so that your faith and hope are in God.”
I Peter 1:17-21 NKJV

This reminded me of what Jason talked about last night. God will judge us according to what is written about us in the book of life. When we come to Jesus his blood is not only applied to our lives but it’s used to blot out what’s written in the book. When God see the blood, he sees the righteousness of his Son. It’s not ordinary blood, like that from an animal. Jesus’ blood is the very blood of God. It’s incorruptible, unlike gold or silver, and is able to redeem.

Jesus is God’s plan of redemption to reconcile his people back to him. His blood was shed and is available to all people. Believe and allow it to change every aspect of your life.

I hope this helps someone today.

Leave a Reply

