Jesus Is The Good Shepherd

Good afternoon, everyone! I hope everyone is enjoying this glorious day. The weekend is almost here. Thank God today for his new blessings and mercies.

The other day I was reading John 10:10, a verse I had written in my sermon notes. I read a few verses before and after it to get the full effect and I ended up reading the whole chapter. The first thirty verses talk about Jesus as the good shepherd.

 Then Jesus said to them again, “Most assuredly, I say to you, I am the door of the sheep.  All who ever came before Me are thieves and robbers, but the sheep did not hear them.  I am the door. If anyone enters by Me, he will be saved, and will go in and out and find pasture.  The thief does not come except to steal, and to kill, and to destroy. I have come that they may have life, and that they may have it more abundantly.
John 10:7-10 NKJV

Jesus protects us and watches over us as a shepherd does to sheep. He ensures that no one will try to come in and take his sheep. The thief only wants to steal, kill, and destroy what belongs to Jesus. However, Jesus desires that we have life instead. That is why he protects us the way that he does. Psalm 23 makes another shepherd comparison. It says that the rod and staff comfort the sheep, or the followers of God. The staff is used to keep the sheep in line. It’s that long stick with the hook at the top. Sheep unfortunately are not the brightest animals and the staff was not always effective. That’s where the rod came in. The shepherd would hit the sheep with the rod and even go as far as brake one of its legs. Protecting the sheep didn’t always mean warding of the enemies. Sometimes the sheep had to be saved from themselves.

 I am the good shepherd; and I know My sheep, and am known by My own.  As the Father knows Me, even so I know the Father; and I lay down My life for the sheep.  And other sheep I have which are not of this fold; them also I must bring, and they will hear My voice; and there will be one flock and one shepherd.
John 10:14-16 NKJV

The sheep have such a strong relationship with their shepherd that they know his voice and will not follow a stranger. In the same way, as Christians, we know Jesus’ voice as we spend time with him in prayer and in God’s word. We become one with Jesus as he and the Father are one.

A shepherd is willing to die for the sheep, which is what Jesus did for us. He took our sin upon himself and endured an excruciating death on the cross. Thankfully his death wasn’t the end. He conquered death, Hell, and the grave, tearing the vail between the Holy Place and Most Holy Place in the process. He rose again with all power in his hands and made it possible for us approach the throne of grace with boldness. Best of all, he’s still a shepherd to his followers and leading them in the right way to go. He is still drawing other to himself thst they may know of his love and sacrifice and give their lives to him and become one with him.

Jesus is the good shepherd. Allow him to lead you today.

Leave a Reply

