The Restorative Power of Jesus

Good afternoon, everyone! It’s another glorious day. I hope you take a moment today to thank God for his new blessings and mercies.

This morning I read one of my favorite passages from the bible. I was in 1 John and this is what it says.

“This is the message which we have heard from Him and declare to you, that God is light and in Him is no darkness at all. If we say that we have fellowship with Him, and walk in darkness, we lie and do not practice the truth. But if we walk in the light as He is in the light, we have fellowship with one another, and the blood of Jesus Christ His Son cleanses us from all sin.”
I John 1:5-7 NKJV

Our God is holy and good and the highest above everything in this world. Because of his holiness, he cannot dwell where there is darkness. His light shines on the darkness and exposes what is hidden. Since he is light, all those who walk with him also walk in the light. It’s impossible to walk with God in darkness. It’s either one or the other. If we’re walking in his light it leads to fellowship with fellow believers. Having God as our light unites us as one. It also says that the blood of Jesus cleanses us from all sin. Being exposed by God’s light shows our sin for what it is and we are then able to make the choice to believe in the cleansing power of Jesus and let him purify us and make us clean.

“If we say that we have no sin, we deceive ourselves, and the truth is not in us. If we confess our sins, He is faithful and just to forgive us our sins and to cleanse us from all unrighteousness. If we say that we have not sinned, we make Him a liar, and His word is not in us.”
I John 1:8-10 NKJV

No one is perfect. We’ve all made mistakes and made bad choices that had consequences that not only hurt us, but others as well. If we choose not to acknowledge this, we are only fooling ourselves and robbing ourselves out of the healing and restoration that is available in Jesus. He is more than willing to not only forgive your sins but to cleanse you of all unrighteousness. That’s means he will give a clean slate, a second chance to start over.

Don’t pretend that everything in your life is fine and it isn’t. I was in that spot for far to long. I put on a front and pretended  that everything was wonderful. In reality, my life was jacked. There was so much pain and brokenness in my life and because of fear and stubbornness I kept it all hidden. I didn’t want to reveal myself for who I really was. Then last year, the second week of May, I was invited to a men’s home group through my new church. While there, I felt the need to open up about everything that was going on. When it was time for prayer, I exposed everything that was going wrong in my life. We all prayed together afterwards and I felt the presence of God in a way that I never have before. At that moment my healing process began, and I felt lighter, I felt loved, and I felt forgiven. I will never forget that day. Today I am a new person, no longer the broken man I used to be. It’s all because of the cleansing power of Jesus. He has made me new through his shed blood.

“My little children, these things I write to you, so that you may not sin. And if anyone sins, we have an Advocate with the Father, Jesus Christ the righteous. And He Himself is the propitiation for our sins, and not for ours only but also for the whole world.”
I John 2:1-2 NKJV

As followers in Christ, we make every effort to live in a way that pleases the Father and points others to Jesus. If we make a mistake and mess up, remember that Jesus died for our sins once and for all. His forgiveness is still available and powerful enough to cover any sin, no matter what it is. He will then provide a second chance so we can make better decisions moving forward.

My good friend Dan led a home group study on 1 John and he always continued to go back to chapter one verse 4.

“And these things we write to you that your joy may be full.”
I John 1:4 NKJV

I hope the fact that forgiveness and restoration through the blood of Jesus being available to all who call on Him, makes your joy full.

Leave a Reply

