Sunday Sermon Snack – Friday

Good evening, everyone! Happy Friday! It’s the end of another week. I hope you all will spend some time resting and relaxing with friends and family, if only for a few hours. Remember to thank God for another week as well as for his amazing blessings and mercies each day. It’s by his grace that we are still here.

It’s time for another sermon snack. This is from Pastor Chris’ sermon during our morning service last Sunday. Get out those plates.

Sometimes we can trick ourselves into thinking we’re living a fulfilled life without Christ. When people go to funerals people start thinking is there more to life? There are people in third world countries born into impoverished lives. When they hear the gospel, it’s everything to them. It’s good news to their lives. God is not a plan B. That’s how some view the gospel. Is his grace sufficient for us?

And lest I should be exalted above measure by the abundance of the revelations, a thorn in the flesh was given to me, a messenger of Satan to buffet me, lest I be exalted above measure. Concerning this thing I pleaded with the Lord three times that it might depart from me. And He said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for My strength is made perfect in weakness.” Therefore most gladly I will rather boast in my infirmities, that the power of Christ may rest upon me. Therefore I take pleasure in infirmities, in reproaches, in needs, in persecutions, in distresses, for Christ’s sake. For when I am weak, then I am strong.
II Corinthians 12:7-10 NKJV

Paul is desperate for these people and doesn’t want them to be duped. He wants them to believe in God. When God has a plan for you he will make sure it’s fulfilled. Paul isn’t too high and mighty that he isn’t approachable and that’s how we should be. Paul had some pain and he prayed to God three times and it didn’t go away. God doesn’t give us pain but he works with what we have. Disease is from the enemy because of the age we live in. But God’s grace is enough to keep us going. It helped Paul to take focus off the pain and put it on the gift. When we press through and continue on through the pain, we receive supernatural strength to do things that we couldn’t before.

Leave a Reply

