Chicken, Beans, and Rice: My Way

Good afternoon, everyone! Happy Monday! The week has started and it’s going to be a good one. I just know it. I’m thankful to God for his new blessings and mercies today. His word says if you were to count them, they would outnumber the grains of sand on the seashore. He is so good to us. Think about all that God is done and give thanks to him.

Today I was at work thinking of something to cook for this post. I remembered something that my friend, X, had posted. (Do you remember X from my Jamaica adventures? If you need a refresher or you haven’t read about the adventures, click here.) He has this picture of a Puerto Rican dish he made a while back with chicken, beans and kale. It looked awesome and I got inspired. I decided to make a chicken, beans, and rice dish with my own special touches.

I started with brown rice. Instead of cooking it in water, I used chicken broth to give it extra flavor.
20151005_165636
Next I began cooking 2.75 lbs. of chicken thigh fillets in a tablespoon of canola oil. I love the thigh meat. I seasoned it with salt, pepper, and a touch of cumin.
20151005_165622
Next I chopped up one onion and threw it in.
20151005_170322
After the onion softened, I added two Roma tomatoes and a jalapeño, with half the seeds removed so it wasn’t too spicy.
20151005_171217
Then, I add a can of pink beans.
20151005_171635
Finally, I chopped up two cups of kale and added that in. I also did a seasoning check and put in another pinch of salt and pepper along with Italian seasoning. I allowed everything to cook until the kale had wilted.
20151005_172105
And there you have it. A meal fit for anyone. It’s quick and easy to make. It has a great mix of protein, vegetables, and starches. It’s also affordable. This will feed four people for $11.00 or $2.75 a plate.
20151005_173036

Leave a Reply

