Savior and Lord

Good afternoon, everyone! How’s your day? I hope it’s a blessed one. It’s warming up a little bit here in the Hudson Valley. This is the fall weather I like. However, regardless of what the weather may look like, it’s a glorious day. There are new opportunities and new blessings and mercies from God. He is amazing.

Last night, my church had a United Service, a monthly evening service on the first Wednesday. It was pretty powerful. Pastor Josh brought a word that was filled with encouragement and challenging truths. One thing he said that stood out to me the most is that we must identify with our mistakes. It’s Jesus we must identify with. Through him we are made new and given a new identity. It doesn’t matter how many times you’ve messed up, even if it’s four thousand times. God still loves you. I’m so thankful for his love for me and that it’s beyond my comprehension. It’s hard to believe sometimes that God sees past the mistakes and see the real me. I can’t make him love me any more or any less. He just loves me, plain and simple with no strings attached.

“God showed how much he loved us by sending his one and only Son into the world so that we might have eternal life through him. This is real love—not that we loved God, but that he loved us and sent his Son as a sacrifice to take away our sins.”
1 John 4:9-10 NLT

Another thing that stood out to me is the fact that God wants a close, intimate relationship with us. He doesn’t want us to know of him, but to know him personally. He wants us to allow his Son to be Lord over our lives, not just be our savior. Jesus is a hero with no weaknesses and he’s able to fix any situation, but there’s more. He wants to be Lord over our lives, to rule and reign in every area, not just some. As we worshipped last night, I felt the2ir were areas of my life I still had to hand over to him. Once I decided to let go, I felt a wright lifted off my shoulders. Do you remember when I wrote about the time I opened up about everything I was going through last year and how free I felt? It was like that. Jesus needs to be Lord of my life, not just my hero.

“When you were slaves to sin, you were free from the obligation to do right. And what was the result? You are now ashamed of the things you used to do, things that end in eternal doom. But now you are free from the power of sin and have become slaves of God. Now you do those things that lead to holiness and result in eternal life. For the wages of sin is death, but the free gift of God is eternal life through Christ Jesus our Lord.”
Romans 6:20-23 NLT

I’m thankful for this freedom in Jesus and for the new life he brought to me. Because of that, I choose to follow him. Allow him to be more than a savior, but Lord over your life.

Leave a Reply

