Beef, Beans, and Rice

Good evening, everyone! Happy Monday! Today was an amazing day, filled with God’s new blessings and mercies. He’s so worthy of all the glory, honor, and praise. Count those blessings before the day is over. It’s amazing to think about the things God has done for us.

Since it’s Monday, I have a recipe for you. I saw a flyer for one pot meals featuring Knorr Pasta and Rice Sides. I saw a good one for beef, beans, and rice. When I couldn’t find the rice package I needed, I decided to make my own version.

First I made the rice. I cooked it in beef broth to give some flavor.
20151019_163436
Next, I cooked two pounds of beef in another pot. I added salt, pepper, garlic powder, onion powder, cumin, and Italian seasoning, and broke it down until it was brown. While it was browning, I chopped up about a cup and a half of broccoli, two Roma tomatoes, and a jalapeño. I removed two thirds of the jalapeño’s seeds so the dish wasn’t too spicy. After chopping, I added everything to the beef.
20151019_165738
Then, I added a can of black beans and did a seasoning check. I added more salt, pepper, and garlic and onion powder.
20151019_170343
Finally, I crumbled up two slices of cheddar cheese and stirred it in.
20151019_171015

20151019_171200
And there you have it. You can either mixed it all together or serve the beef and bean on top of the rice. This is an easy meal you can make any night of the week. It has a balanced mix of protein, vegetables, and starches. And it’s affordable. I already had the rice and cheese. The other ingredients cost me less than $7. Even if I did have to get the rice and cheese, we’re still talking less than ten dollars for a family dinner.
20151019_171503

Leave a Reply

