Tell Your Story

I’ve been reading another book lately called Between The Lines by Bob Sorge. He’s an amazing preacher and I like this book. It talks about how we each of us have a story and God is our author. Look at what the Bible says.

“For God is not the author of confusion but of peace, as in all the churches of the saints.”
I Corinthians 14:33 NKJV

“Looking unto Jesus, the author and finisher of our faith, who for the joy that was set before Him endured the cross, despising the shame, and has sat down at the right hand of the throne of God.”
Hebrews 12:2 NKJV

God is the author of each person’s story. These stories are filled with highs and lows, triumphs and failures. These stories are continuing, still being written until we breath our last breathe. It’s like watching a movie and it’s many sequels. There’s suspense and intrigue mixed in and it keeps us wanting to know what happens next.

The bible is full of many stories. I love reading about Joseph and how through all the good and bad that he experienced, he never wavered in his faith in God and kept on believing that everything would work for good. I love the story of Esther and how God orchestrated her life to use her to deliver his people from genocide.

And then there’s Jesus. Not only was Jesus the best storyteller of all time, but his own story is the best one ever told. It’s been told in many countries in different languages for nearly 2000 years. His story still draws people to himself and lives are changed and transformed each day.

Our stories help others in their time of need. They provide hope and strength by pointing that individual to the answer: Jesus Christ. At least, that’s how it should be. Sorge says:

“The point of your story is to make God–not you–look good. If we come away impressed with your zeal and dedication and faith, we have been left with dry bones. But if we come away impressed with the grace and mercy of God, we have been brought to a tree of life.”

This reminds me of a verse Pastor Josh always uses.

“The generous soul will be made rich, And he who waters will also be watered himself.”
Proverbs 11:25 NKJV

We refresh others when we tell our stories. When we do that, we also become refreshed. I remember when I was in Jamaica back in July and Pastor Don gave me an opportunity to share my testimony before he preached one night. I was really nervous because I never told it before. I went up and I began to tell of the dark place I was in last year, filled with pain and brokenness from everything that had gone on at the time. I was in thousand of dollars of debt, my college career had stalled, and my marriage had crumbled. My relationship with God had become nonexistent because of my focus on all my problems. Then one day I visit King’s Fire Church, where I currently attend every Sunday. I reconnected with God and that was the beginning of my healing. I spent more time with the Lord in prayer and his word as well as got help from my church family. I received a clearer understanding of who Jesus is. I rededicated my life to him and allowed his  love to change my heart and mind. Today, a year and half later, I’ve become a different person. Jesus resides in the inner most part of my heart and he’s made me complete. I’m so thankful for how he changed my life. I’m no longer that broken person. Because of what Jesus did for me, I stand forgiven and set free.

Several members of my spiritual family have said that telling my story is part of the healing process. I remember the freedom that came when I told my story and I’m thankful for the lives it touched. I hope you will tell your story and let others know what Jesus has done in your life.

I leave you today with this amazing song by Morgan Harper Nichols. It reminds us that all of us are storytellers and, just as Sorge said, our stories should point to the grace and mercy of God.

Morgan Harper Nichols – Storyteller

Leave a Reply

