Wait On The Lord

I’ve been reading more of Bob Sorge’s book Between The Lines. A section that stood out to me had to do with waiting on God. Waiting on God can be a difficult thing at times. You don’t know how long wait will be. One thing that it reminded me of was faith, which is what the wait helps us with. It reminds us that God is faithful to us in being a loving father and he will answer our prayers and provide direction in his time, which is always perfect.

I thought of a bible verse that goes with this.

“Wait on the Lord ; Be of good courage, And He shall strengthen your heart; Wait, I say, on the Lord !”
Psalms 27:14 NKJV

To understand this verse fully, you have to look at the 13 verses that precede it. Psalm 27 is King David’s declaration of faith. It begins with the following :

“The Lord  is my light and my salvation; Whom shall I fear? The Lord  is the strength of my life; Of whom shall I be afraid? When the wicked came against me To eat up my flesh, My enemies and foes, They stumbled and fell. Though an army may encamp against me, My heart shall not fear; Though war may rise against me, In this I will  be confident.”
Psalms 27:1-3 NKJV

The declaration begins with who God is to David, his light, salvation, and strength of his life. In other words, God is David’s guide, protector, and sustenance. Because of this David is able to walk in boldness in the presence of his enemies. He knows that no matter how big the battle is, God is on his side and will fight for him.

“One thing I have desired of the Lord , That will I seek: That I may dwell in the house of the Lord All the days of my life, To behold the beauty of the Lord , And to inquire in His temple. For in the time of trouble He shall hide me in His pavilion; In the secret place of His tabernacle He shall hide me; He shall set me high upon a rock. And now my head shall be lifted up above my enemies all around me; Therefore I will offer sacrifices of joy in His tabernacle; I will sing, yes, I will sing praises to the Lord.”
Psalms 27:4-6 NKJV

The only way David came to know who God is personally is by spending time with him. He desires for this relationship to continue to grow, since his desire is to dwell with God, beholding his beauty and speaking with him one-on-one, not just for a few more days, but for the rest of his life. David has come to trust in the Lord based on who he knows him to be. This leads him to firmly believe that God will not only cover him from his enemies, but also exalt him above his enemies. God will act as a shield from anything that comes David’s way and empower him to rise above all challenges. This gives David joy and compels him to praise the Lord and sing to him.

“Hear, O Lord , when I cry with my voice! Have mercy also upon me, and answer me. When  You  said, “Seek My face,” My heart said to You, “Your face, Lord , I will seek.” Do not hide Your face from me; Do not turn Your servant away in anger; You have been my help; Do not leave me nor forsake me, O God of my salvation. When my father and my mother forsake me, Then the Lord will take care of me.”
Psalms 27:7-10 NKJV

David is aware of the promises outlined in Deuteronomy where is says that God will not leave nor forsake his children (31:6) and that he will bless them if they make every effort to follow after him (28:1-14). He reminds God of his promises in his prayer and, based on that, believes that God will continue to take care him, just like he has, even if he’s left all alone. He has faith that everything God says is true.

“Teach me Your way, O Lord , And lead me in a smooth path, because of my enemies. Do not deliver me to the will of my adversaries; For false witnesses have risen against me, And such as breathe out violence. I  would  have  lost  heart, unless I had believed That I would see the goodness of the Lord In the land of the living.”
Psalms 27:11-13 NKJV

David is referred to as a man after God’s heart for a reason. He wants the things that are in God’s heart to be in his heart. He wants to live the life that God has called him to so that his enemies will not be able to say anything against him. Though they may try, they won’t succeed. David believes in the God’s goodness and mercies and that gives hope to keep moving forward.

Because of all that David has experienced, he is able to tell us to wait on the Lord. He says to be of good cheer. Don’t be anxious for anything, as the Apostle Paul said (Philippians 4:6) In the same way God strengthened David’s heart, he will strengthen ours.

I know that no matter what happens in my waiting period, God will open doors for me. For the rest of my days,  He will be my guide, my protection, and my sustenance just like he promised. Thank you, Lord!

Leave a Reply

