Thank You, Vaughan Jarrold

Good afternoon, everyone! How was your week? I hope everything is going well for you in this new year so far. It is such a blessing to be here, alive and well with a fresh new start. Thank you, God, for these new blessings and mercies and all you have in store for this new year!

I know some of you might be wondering why I haven’t posted in a while. My schedule has been so packed this week, I couldn’t find the time. But now I wish to tell you all a story.

Today I went to the home going service for Vaughan Jarrold, one of the pastors of my church. He passed away on Sunday. His life was an amazing testimony of what Jesus can do through a willing individual. He was not only a pastor, but a prophet to the nations, as well. He traveled all over the world spreading the word of God and leading people to Jesus. He had so many stories to tell and preached the word with such boldness. It was amazing hearing all the stories of the lives he touched while he lived.

I have a story also. About two weeks before Vaughan passed, I attended a birthday dinner for his son-in-law. It was also a reveal party to discover the gender of his forethcoming grandchild. As always, I took pictures and was busily spending time on Facebook and Instagram. Vaughan knew I was on Facebook because I tagged him on one of my posts.  He came up to me and said that he heard that I like to spend alot time on my phone, which is very true. He took my phone away and told me to talk to people. Under normal circumstances, I would make an effort to get my phone back. But since Vaughan was my elder and was a towering 6’5” with broad shoulders, I followed his directive. I joined in with conversations with his children and I enjoyed it very much. Twenty minutes later, Vaughan returned my phone, but I kept it in pocket until I came home. It didn’t feel compelled to use it. The social media could wait and I needed to live outside my phone.

Since then I’ve been spending less time on social media. It’s freed up time for me to do other things and showed me that it’s not as important as originally thought. It reminded me of when I was in Jamaica last summer. (Please read my posts about it if you haven’t already. They’re amazing adventures.) I didn’t have service on my phone for 80% of my time there. It was my first time actively engaging with other people without using social media as a crutch. It was an awesome feeling and I’m thankful for Vaughan lighting the spark that reawakened it.

I’m not one to make resolutions but in addition to spending more time with Jesus and working towards gaining financial freedom, I want to invest in my relationships with other people. I’ve already started doing that at my new job. Six weeks ago, I started working as a teaching assistant at a school for special needs children. I’m allowing God to use me in my gifts and I’m sowing into the students here, helping then to be their best academically and personally. I’m seeing changes in some of the students and I love how God is working. Only he is able to do what I have been seeing.

I want to leave you with some scriptures that one of Vaughan’s sons read in his eulogy.

“Do not lay up for yourselves treasures on earth, where moth and rust destroy and where thieves break in and steal;  but lay up for yourselves treasures in heaven, where neither moth nor rust destroys and where thieves do not break in and steal.  For where your treasure is, there your heart will be also.”
Matthew 6:19-21 NKJV

Vaughan devoted his life to God’s plan and I want to do the same. I want for my heart’s desires to line up with his, even if it may not be popular or practical with someone else’s. God has so much in store for each of our lives and when we decide to submit to him and trust in him, we will find that his plan is better than what we could have thought of ourselves. I never thought that I would work in the place I am now and I love it. God gave me a joy for it. Trust God today and follow him wherever he leads you.

Leave a Reply

