Curry Chicken Chili with White Beans

Good afternoon, everyone! How was your weekend? I hope it was blessed. Mine was and I’m so grateful to God for his goodness and his new blessings and mercies. He is worthy of all the honor and praise.

Yesterday my church had their annual Chili Cookoff. I was one of 15 particpants. I wanted to do something unique and memorable. I crafted a little something I call Curry Chicken Chili with White Beans. I’m so proud of this recipe. Unfortunately, I didn’t win a prize, but when a precious three-year-old requests a second helping (and you’re known as Contestant 1), I believe I accomplished so much more.

Curry chicken is pretty tasty, which is why I decided to turn it into a chili. I figured white beans would pair well with chicken and add more of a “meatiness”.

Ingredients
2 lbs Ground chicken
3 large Carrots peeled and chopped
1 large Onion chopped
2 16 oz cans of White beans
1 28 oz can of Diced Tomatoes
4 bell peppers chopped  (preferably multicolored)
2 Jalapeños (1/2 of the seeds removed)
3 Tsp of salt
2 Tsp of pepper
2 Tsp Italian seasoning
3 Tbsp Curry powder
2 Tbsp Chili powder
2 Tbsp Cumin
2 Tbsp Corn Starch
2 Tbsp of Vegetable Oil

I started with chopping up all my vegetables. To save time, I used a food processor. I used four different colored peppers to give it brightness. I wanted it to look appealing since most people eat with their eyes first.

After chopping,  I preheated the pot with the vegetable oil on medium high heat. Then I added the chicken. I prefer ground  meat in chilies. As it was cooking, I added half of each seasoning to the meat to bring out layers of flavor. When the meat was cooked, I added the vegetables, the canned tomatoes, and the white beans. The rest of the seasonings went in along with the corn starch to give it extra thickness. Give it a good stir and when it comes to a bowl, let it simmer. This is the key to an amazing chili. The longer it simmers, the better the flavor. Also remember to taste as you go and do a seasoning check. Make some adjustments to suit your tastes.

That’s all there is to it. You can add toppings like cheddar cheese or, my personal favorite, sour cream. Corn bread is also great for sopping up those glorious juices. Try it out for your next family gathering or potluck.

20160130_213935

20160131_135351

 

Leave a Reply

