HEAD Meal : Dry Rub Roasted Chicken

Good evening, everyone! It’s Tuesday. We’ve made it to the month of March. I hope the first two months of your year are going well. I’m thankful for all that took place this day. We enjoyed some beautiful weather here in the northeast that preluded to Spring. It was another one of God’s new blessings and mercies. I’m glad I lived another and got to take them all in.

I meant to post a new recipe yesterday, but time got away from me. I have a new HEAD Meal to show you. This time it’s not a one pot meal, but three different components. First up is my Dry Rub Roasted Chicken. I used chicken thighs for this and created a sweet, spicy, and savory rub and give the chicken amazing flavor.

Ingredients
1/2 cup Brown Sugar
2 Tbsp Italian Seasoning
1 Tbsp of the each of the following : Pepper, Chili Powder, Cumin, Curry
1 1/2 Tsp Salt
1 Tsp of each of the following : Garlic Powder and Onion Powder

Mix all the seasonings together and rub it all over the chicken. Put in a 400 degree oven for 30-35 minutes.

For the first side dish I have a simple Roasted Broccoli. I seasoned the broccoli with salt and pepper and popped it into the same 400 degree oven for 15 minutes.

For the second dish I made Cheddar Smashes Potatoes. I boiled 4 medium red potatoes. When they were fork tender, after about 20 minutes, I drained the water and smashed them up with the skins on. The skins add a textural element and color. I added salt, pepper, 2 Tbsp of butter, and three slices of cheddar cheese.

IMG_20160301_214238

I hope you like this as much as I did. Healthy. Easy. Affordable. Delicious. Every meal should be a HEAD Meal.

Leave a Reply

