Thoughts for Thursday : Speak Life

Good afternoon, everyone! How is everyone doing on this Thursday? I hope that your day is going well. It’s another day of God’s new blessings and mercies. He’s so worthy, so loving, and so amazing.

speak_life_preservice

Today I want to talk about the importance of speaking life. There’s a bible verse that came to my mind this morning.

“Death and life are in the power of the tongue, and those who love it will eat its fruit.”
Proverbs 18:21 NKJV

The words we speak have the power of life and death. When God created the universe and the world, he spoke everything into existence. The first chapter of Genesis shows this. The heavens, the earth, the separation of waters in the firmament, the land, the vegetation, and all the animals came to be through God’s words.

“Then God said, “Let Us make man in Our image, according to Our likeness; let them have dominion over the fish of the sea, over the birds of the air, and over the cattle, over all the earth and over every creeping thing that creeps on the earth.” So God created man in His own image; in the image of God He created him; male and female He created them.”
Genesis 1:26-27 NKJV

Since God creates us in his own image, that means that our words have power also. We can use them to speak life or death.

Years ago I was at a revival and the guest speaker said something that has stayed with me ever since. He said the most damaging words you can ever say to someone is:

YOU WILL NEVER CHANGE.

Those words are damaging because they place the person you speak them to in a stronghold. It will be hard for that person to break free from what he or she is trying to overcome.

I know this first hand. These very same words were spoken to me two years ago when I was at a low point in my life. When those words hit me, I felt worthless and dead on the inside. I felt like I would never rise above my circumstances.

“The words of the reckless pierce like swords, but the tongue of the wise brings healing.”
Proverbs 12:18 NIV

Those words hurt me very much. However, God used my immediate family and my church family to speak life over me. The reckless words that I was told were not who I was. I was reminded of God’s love for me. He loved me so much that he sent his son Jesus Christ to die for my sins. Through the sacrifice and precious blood of Jesus, I am washed clean and made holy, righteous, and redeemed. I am reconciled back to God as his son. I am made a new, a new creation. Old things have passed away, and all things have become new. (2 Corinthians 5:17) This is who I really am. This not only brought healing to my life, but it set me free from the stronghold I was in. I am changed. I am not the person I once was. I don’t even recognize him anymore. I thank God for being so loving, forgiving, and merciful. I thank Jesus for his sacrifice and making me new. I thank the Holy Spirit for dwelling inside of me and leading in all truth. I thank my parents, my sister, and my church family for building me back up.

Because Jesus healed my heart, I want to pay it forward.

“Do not let any unwholesome talk come out of your mouths, but only what is helpful for building others up according to their needs, that it may benefit those who listen.”
Ephesians 4:29 NIV

Since words have power and since I know how it feels to have reckless, hurtful words spoken to me, I will do everything I can to speak life into other people and build them up, the same way that I was. I encourage all of you to do the same.

I leave you today with one of my favorite songs from one of my favorite singers, Tobymac. Speak life over someone today. Your words have the power to change someone for the better.

Tobymac – Speak Life

Leave a Reply

