Blueberry Pie

Good evening, everyone! How is everyone enjoying the month of May? I hope it’s off to a great start. I look forward to seeing things warm up and come into full bloom. I thank God for these amazing blessings and mercies that he graciously supplies each day. I serve an awesome,  all powerful God who loves beyond measure. I am forever thankful for all that he is.

2016-05-02 21.30.33

Today I have a great recipe to share. As we all know, a meal is never complete without a dessert. The next time you need to contribute to big meal, why don’t you make a pie? I’ve been experimenting with lots of different types over the past several weeks. One of my favorites is blueberry.

I use a store bought crust and make the filling from scratch. The canned filling tends to have preservatives and way too much sugar. I defrost 4 cups of frozen blueberries. I add half a cup of sugar, three tablespoons of cornstarch, and a dash of salt. I mix it all together and put it in the pie dish. Be sure to poke holes in the top cust. You can make a design with the holes like I do. Or you can to a lattice design. This one takes a bit of time but it comes out amazing. Pop it the over for 45 minutes at 400 degrees. As an extra tip put foil around the edge of the crust before you put it in the oven. Take the foil off after 25 minutes. This prevents the edge from cooking to fast.

And there you have it. This process works with most any fruit pie. Remember that all things are good in moderation. Have your piece of pie, but keep watch of the portions. (But if it’s cheat day, just let loose.)

Leave a Reply

