Mission Jamaica 2 – 7/21/16

​Day 14

Today I woke up feeling refreshed. Herman and I talked about yesterday’s VBS session at Shaw Park. Those kids left quite an impression. It’s amazing how I came here with the mindset of helping and ministering to others. While that did happen, I was ministered to in the process. We all were.

I did my morning workout, my last one for Jamaica. Shannon needed to rest today, but Barry joined me. I asked Omar to exercise with us and he came also. He did very well with the Training For Warriors part. Then we did a soccer clinic. Barry taught some challenging skills. They were fun, though. I can’t wait to do them again when I get back. We did some running around the field. Then Omar took some pictures and videos of us for his company, Jamrock Water. He bottles natural spring water, which he’s supplied for us the whole time we’ve been here. It looks like I’ll be getting my fifteen minutes of fame.

Mother Cooper made a great breakfast for us: salt mackerel, frank and beans, bread, breadfruit, yellow yams, green bananas, and grapefruit. It was very good. I’ve been wanting to have breadfruit for some time. It was grilled and crispy on the outside and soft on the inside. It was similar to grilled potatoes. The frank and beans went awesome with the bread. No one can make them like she can.

After breakfast it was time for what would be our last outing as a group. We went to Dunn’s River Falls. It’s a little water park/beach in Ocho Rios. It was an uphill climb to the top through a cold, refreshing river. It was a bit challenging but we all helped each other get to the top. Don, Bill, and Herman had some business to attend to and could not come with us. Rupert filled their spots and he was so happy to come with us. After going up the falls, we spent the rest of the day at the beach portion. The water was warm and clear. I enjoyed swimming and looking for treasure one last time. I found two seashells. It was a wonderful last day at the beach. Afterwards we went to the flea market and everyone bought gifts to take home. I already had gifts for my family, but I didn’t get myself anything. I bought a new fedora. It’s dark brown with a black trim.

We had another great dinner. Mother Cooper and Sister Betty served us fried chicken, rice and peas, coleslaw, macaroni, and vegetables. It was so good. I love that chicken. It was juicy, well seasoned, as ND fried to perfection. This will be the last dinner in Jamaica.

Afterwards we had something special. My birthday is tomorrow and we had a celebration complete with a cake, singing, a present, and remarks of kind words. I was so blessed by it. I wasn’t expecting anything. I got a book called The Absolute by James Robison. I can’t wait to start reading it. I’m so thankful by how everyone thought of me.


Alot of people were there: the Codlings, Mother Cooper, Sister Betty, Rupert, Clarke, Norda, Deirdre, Pastor Coke, and more. They gave us a lovely send off with beautiful well wishes and special gifts. I already knew what my gift was before opening it. It was a fedora. When I opened it, I saw it had Jamaica on it. I loved it. I had the same feeling I had on our last day last summer. We are now family and we are now Jamericans!

Leave a Reply

