Thoughts For Thursday : Trust In God

​Good morning, everyone! Happy Thursday! We’ve made it to the month of September. Very soon it will be autumn. For now I’m going to enjoy these last days of summer. I thank God for all he did in August. He supplied new blessings and mercies each day. Yes he’s that good.

Throughout August I posted about my adventures in Jamaica and the awesome sermons that Barry and Pastor Don preached. This was my second time going to Jamaica. It was an incredible journey, but it was one I wasn’t sure was going to happen.

It all started in March. I did my taxes myself through TurboTax. I ran into some issues submitting the return online and had to submit it in the mail. It takes six weeks for taxes to process when done that way. At the end of May, two months later, I became concerned when I didn’t receive my tax return. I contacted the IRS, which was not an easy task. I finally got to talk to a person. She told me that my taxes weren’t received and that I would have to submit everything again. My heart sank. I needed my return so I could pay for my trip to Jamaica. Resubmitting the paperwork would mean another six weeks of waiting. But I didn’t have six weeks! I really needed this money and I didn’t know what to do…..except trust God. He provided the funds last summer for the trip and I had to believe he would work a miracle this time as well. Three weeks later I withdrew money from the ATM. Looking at the receipt, I realized I had alot of money in my account. I had just received a paycheck, but this was more than I would usually have. I checked my bank statement and saw that my tax return was deposited. I was thankful for how God provided. My trip was now fully funded and my faith in God had grown stronger.

Trusting in God can be difficult at times, but we must believe he has a plan for us. Most of us are familiar with that classic scene from the movie Aladdin in which Aladdin takes Princess Jasmine on that magic carpet ride. But before that happened, there was something he had to do first. Aladdin extended his hand to Jasmine and asked her “Do you trust me?” 

In the same way God has this incredible journey for us. Jeremiah 29:11 says,

“For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the Lord , “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.” NIV

God is extending his hand to us and asking “Do you trust me?” The journey will be exciting and fulfilling but it will also have moments of difficulty and it will take us out of our comfort zone. God wants to know if we will trust him for what he has for us.

I can say personally that God can be trusted. I wouldn’t have gone to Jamaica if I didn’t trust him. I believe in his plan for me. Ephesians 2:10 says,

“For we are His workmanship, created in Christ Jesus for good works, which God prepared beforehand that we should walk in them.” NKJV

His promises are sure. I’m thankful for what he has done in me and for how my faith in him has grown stronger. God has a plan for you as well.

“Before I formed you in the womb I knew you; Before you were born I sanctified you; I ordained you a prophet to the nations.”

Jeremiah 1:5 NKJV

“And we know that in all things God works for the good of those who love him, who have been called according to his purpose. For those God foreknew he also predestined to be conformed to the image of his Son, that he might be the firstborn among many brothers and sisters. And those he predestined, he also called; those he called, he also justified; those he justified, he also glorified.”

Romans 8:28‭-‬30 NIV

“And I am certain that God, who began the good work within you, will continue his work until it is finally finished on the day when Christ Jesus returns.” Philippians 1:6 NLT

I encourage you to trust him with everything. He will take care of you and lead you on an incredible journey.

Leave a Reply

