Thoughts For Thursday: God’s Love For Us

​Good afternoon, everyone! I hope you’re all enjoying this amazing Thrusday and that your kids are enjoying their first week of school, at least in the northeast. I hope you all give yourselves time to take in God’s new blessings and mercies today. He’s watching over us and he knows all that we need and he is more than willing to supply it.

I want to add to what I said last week about trusting in God. God desires for us to have a personal relationship with him. He encourages us to pray to him. 

“Are any of you suffering hardships? You should pray. Are any of you happy? You should sing praises.”

James 5:13 NLT

We are not to be conditional praisers. We can’t only approach God when we’re experiencing hard times. Conversely we can’t let the only time we give God praise be when things are sunshine and roses. It’s like having a relationship with a person whether its a friend, family member, or significant other. God wants to know everything that’s going on and know every secret.

You might be thinking “Why do I need to pray? Doesn’t God know everything?” You are absolutely right. He does know everything. But he wants to hear our confession that we need him in our lives. It’s like a twelve step program for addicts. The first step is admitting that you have a problem and that your life has now become unmanageable. God wants that same confession. He will never force his way into your life.

“Behold, I stand at the door and knock. If anyone hears My voice and opens the door, I will come in to him and dine with him, and he with Me.”

Revelation 3:20 NKJV

Love is a choice. It’s not something that is robotic or forced. God loves you unconditionally just as you are and he desires for you to come to know him through his son Jesus.

“For God so loved the world that He gave His only begotten Son, that whoever believes in Him should not perish but have everlasting life.  For God did not send His Son into the world to condemn the world, but that the world through Him might be saved.”

John 3:16‭-‬17 NKJV

“The Lord is not slack concerning His promise, as some count slackness, but is longsuffering toward us, not willing that any should perish but that all should come to repentance.”

2 Peter 3:9 NKJV

God loves us enough to allow us the freewill to make the choice to love him back. He knows that not everyone will accept his love, but he’s willing to take that chance. He wants our love for him to be genuine. Last week I said that God is holding his hand out to us and asking “Do you trust me?” It takes faith to trust someone. It takes faith to allow God to love us and to accept that his Son’s death on the cross was for us. 

I accepted God’s love. I’m overwhelmed by the fact that I did nothing to deserve his love and yet he gave it anyway. He wants me to be close to him. When I heard him knocking I let him in. Now his son Jesus resides in my heart and it has changed my whole life. 

“Therefore, if anyone is in Christ, he is a new creation; old things have passed away; behold, all things have become new.”

2 Corinthians 5:17 NKJV

If you showed me the person I was two years ago, I would not recognize him. Everything in my life has become new. I am no longer defined by my past failures, mistakes, or brokenness. I am defined by how Jesus came into heart and gave me new life.

“I have been crucified with Christ; it is no longer I who live, but Christ lives in me; and the life which I now live in the flesh I live by faith in the Son of God, who loved me and gave Himself for me.”

Galations 2:20 NKJV

I live each day in the fact that God has made all things new. It is through his Son Jesus that I live. I allow his light to shine through me for others to see.

It doesn’t matter what you have done. God loves you beyond your mistakes and failures. Trust in his love and allow him into your heart. Your life won’t be the same.

Leave a Reply

