Thoughts For Thursday : He Was Born To Be Your Savior

Good morning everyone! How are you doing on this beautiful Thursday? I hope you are having a good week. Get that Christmas shopping finished by Saturday. And don’t forget to take the time to thank God for his amazing blessings and mercies. He’s so worthy of all the praise.

This morning I cried, not because I’m sad, but because I’m happy. I read a passage of scripture that reminded me how blessed I am and I want to share it with you.

“The Spirit of the Lord God is upon me, because the Lord has anointed me to bring good news to the poor; he has sent me to bind up the brokenhearted, to proclaim liberty to the captives, and the opening of the prison to those who are bound; to proclaim the year of the Lord ‘s favor, and the day of vengeance of our God; to comfort all who mourn; to grant to those who mourn in Zion— to give them a beautiful headdress instead of ashes, the oil of gladness instead of mourning, the garment of praise instead of a faint spirit; that they may be called oaks of righteousness, the planting of the Lord , that he may be glorified.”

Isaiah 61:1‭-‬3 ESV

As you know this is the time of year that we celebrate the birth of Jesus Christ. His was born to be the Savior of all mankind. These words prophesy what he would do for us. Jesus, in everything he did, was guided by the Holy Spirit and brought good news to all people. This is what’s known as The Gospel. Jesus was born of a virgin girl named Mary. He lived a perfect life and never sinned. He would then take on the sin of all people. Jesus allowed himself to be beaten and bruised and sacrifice himself on a cross. He took the punishment for our sin. After he died he was placed in a tomb and over the next three days was in an epic battle with Satan. On the morning of the third day, Jesus rose from the dead through the Holy Spirit in victory. He conquered Hell, death, and the grave and has all power in his hands. When we believe that this death was for our sin, that Jesus was raised from the dead and confess that he is Lord, we will be saved. We will be forgiven of our sin and cleansed of all unrighteousness. We will have a fresh start as new creations. Our brokenness, as Isaiah said, will be bound up. Our sin will no longer keep us captive. Every chain will be broken and we will walk in victory. We will be comforted and given beauty for ashes.

All of this made me cry this morning because I remember the man I used be. Two and a half years ago, I was bound in brokenness and heartache. My marriage was ending and I was in thousands of dollars of debt. My relationship with God had become nonexistent and I didn’t know what to do with my life. Then one day I stepped into King’s Fire Church, my current church, and Jesus met with me in a way I never experienced before. It was like meeting him all over again. It was then I truly understood what it meant to have him as my Lord and Savior. I gave Jesus his rightful place in the throne of my heart and everything has changed. My finances have gotten better and I’m on the road to financial freedom. I now work as a special education teacher for children with autism and it’s a blessing to help them attain a higher level of independence. I’m very active in my church and I love leading worship at our homegroups. I get to remind everyone of the wonderful gift that Jesus is all the world. Today I’m standing as that tree of righteousness because of what Jesus did in my life.

Jesus loves you. He was born to be your Savior and he desires that you come to know him and begin a relationship with him. Call on his name today and believe in him.

Leave a Reply

