Thoughts For Thursday : Live Your Life Now

Good afternoon, everyone! How is everything doing? I hope you’re enjoying your Thursday as much as I am. It is a beautiful day. Don’t let it get away without thanking God for his amazing blessings and mercies. There’s so much to be grateful for. 

This morning was spent reflecting on the past year. I made some wonderful accomplishments in my health, my work, my finances, and my relationship with God. I’m not one to make resolutions, but I found myself pondering goals for the new year. I want to take everything in my life to the next level. I always want to be moving forward. It’s just like what the Apostle Paul said:

“Brethren, I do not count myself to have apprehended; but one thing I  do, forgetting those things which are behind and reaching forward to those things which are ahead, I press toward the goal for the prize of the upward call of God in Christ Jesus.”

Philippians 3:13‭-‬14 NKJV

I am not the same person I once was. I’m thankful for all that God did inside of me and all that he will do. I’ve learned that focusing on the past can and will keep you from getting to your destination. You can’t drive forward looking in a rearview mirror, otherwise you can’t see where you’re going. I’m going to strive in all these areas of my life and continally grow. 

Another thing I reflected on today is how precious life is. The days are going by quickly. There were moments when I was awestruck at how it seems like 2016 just started a few days. Also over the past few days, I’ve had several friends who lost a loved one. That, combined with all the celebrities that have left us in just the past two days, reminds me to make the most of my time left. 

A friend, whose father passed away at the beginning of the year, expressed her desire to accomplish goals that were once on the back burner. What she said inspired me. I don’t know how much time I have left, but I’m going to live each day enjoying every moment and being a light to all the people I come into contact with. I’m going to express the love that Jesus put inside of me. Most of all I’m going to walk victoriously knowing that I’m blessed and my life, my gifts, and my talents will bless others. 

“I know that nothing is better for them than to rejoice, and to do good in their lives, and also that every man should eat and drink and enjoy the good of all his labor—it is the gift of God.”

Ecclesiastes 3:12‭-‬13 NKJV

“Surely goodness and mercy shall follow me All the days of my life; And I will dwell in the house of the Lord Forever.”

Psalm 23:6 NKJV

2017 will be an amazing year!

Leave a Reply

