Sunday Sermon Snack – Saturday : Call On The Name Of The Lord

Good evening everyone! Happy Saturday! I hope January is off to a great start. How are those resolutions coming along? If you fell off the wagon, I encourage you to get back on. There’s always time to turn it around. Also remember to thank God for a new opportunity to make better choices. He gives us new blessings and mercies each day. Walk in them.

Today I bring you a delicious sermon snack courtesy of Pastor Josh. It will motivate you to start praying and communicating with God in a way you haven’t before. Don’t forget to share it with someone. 

_________

“And as for Seth, to him also a son was born; and he named him Ē´nosh. Then men began to call on the name of the Lord.”

Genesis 4:26 NKJV

In the begnning before the Messiah men began to call on the name of the Lord. He’s not just a creater. He can be called out to and have fellowship with. The relationship was initually lost with sin. There was a desire to call on the name of the lord. When you put something aside that you usually lean on, there’s a strength that comes from God and a freshness that comes in prayer. Recognize that we are born of the same spirit that raised Jesus from  the dead. Our strength comes from the incorruptible seed that’s inside of us. The condition of your surroundings can never affect your spirit unless you let it.

“In those days I, Daniel, was mourning three full weeks. I ate no pleasant food, no meat or wine came into my mouth, nor did I anoint myself at all, till three whole weeks were fulfilled. Now on the twenty-fourth day of the first month, as I was by the side of the great river, that is, the Tigris, I lifted my eyes and looked, and behold, a certain man clothed in linen, whose waist was  girded with gold of Uphaz! His body was like beryl, his face like the appearance of lightning, his eyes like torches of fire, his arms and feet like burnished bronze in color, and the sound of his words like the voice of a multitude. And I, Daniel, alone saw the vision, for the men who were with me did not see the vision; but a great terror fell upon them, so that they fled to hide themselves. Therefore I was left alone when I saw this great vision, and no strength remained in me; for my vigor was turned to frailty in me, and I retained no strength. Yet I heard the sound of his words; and while I heard the sound of his words I was in a deep sleep on my face, with my face to the ground. Suddenly, a hand touched me, which made me tremble on my knees and on the palms of my hands. And he said to me, “O Daniel, man greatly beloved, understand the words that I speak to you, and stand upright, for I have now been sent to you.” While he was speaking this word to me, I stood trembling. Then he said to me, “Do not fear, Daniel, for from the first day that you set your heart to understand, and to humble yourself before your God, your words were heard; and I have come because of your words. But the prince of the kingdom of Persia withstood me twenty-one days; and behold, Michael, one of the chief princes, came to help me, for I had been left alone there with the kings of Persia. Now I have come to make you understand what will happen to your people in the latter days, for the vision refers to many days yet to  come. ”

Daniel 10:2‭-‬14 NKJV

Follow the deep place in your spirit. There’s a personality of God that is not predictable. The children of the Lord follow his voice. There’s power in calling on the name of the Lord. God is a perfect father and is not distracted. He wants to live in the hearts of his kids. He won’t force himself on us. Love has to be reciprocated. 

“Then He spoke a parable to them, that men always ought to pray and not lose heart, saying: “There was in a certain city a judge who did not fear God nor regard man.  Now there was a widow in that city; and she came to him, saying, ‘Get justice for me from my adversary.’  And he would not for a while; but afterward he said within himself, ‘Though I do not fear God nor regard man,  yet because this widow troubles me I will avenge her, lest by her continual coming she weary me.’ ” Then the Lord said, “Hear what the unjust judge said.  And shall God not avenge His own elect who cry out day and night to Him, though He bears long with them?  I tell you that He will avenge them speedily. Nevertheless, when the Son of Man comes, will He really find faith on the earth?”

Luke 18:1‭-‬8 

God is the source of everything we will ever need. That position will always be challenged. The enemy will always try to discourage our faith. God will answer our call for justice. Will we continue to cry out if his response is delayed? Will we desire revival long enough to press in? Will we trust and believe that he will answer our prayer?

“Also He spoke this parable to some who trusted in themselves that they were righteous, and despised others: “Two men went up to the temple to pray, one a Pharisee and the other a tax collector.  The Pharisee stood and prayed thus with himself, ‘God, I thank You that I am not like other men—extortioners, unjust, adulterers, or even as this tax collector.  I fast twice a week; I give tithes of all that I possess.’  And the tax collector, standing afar off, would not so much as raise his eyes to heaven, but beat his breast, saying, ‘God, be merciful to me a sinner!’  I tell you, this man went down to his house justified rather than the other; for everyone who exalts himself will be humbled, and he who humbles himself will be exalted.”

Luke 18:9‭-‬14 

Jesus washed his disciples feet to show his love and desire for servanthood. Don’t miss the heart of Christ. He wants us to pray because he desires fellowship wuth us. That’s why he died for us. Prayer is communication with God. We must talk to him to remain healthy spiritually. We must desire to be in his presence and hear his heart.

“So then, because you are lukewarm, and neither cold nor hot, I will vomit you out of My mouth.  Because you say, ‘I am rich, have become wealthy, and have need of nothing’—and do not know that you are wretched, miserable, poor, blind, and naked—  I counsel you to buy from Me gold refined in the fire, that you may be rich; and white garments, that you may be clothed, that the shame of your nakedness may not be revealed; and anoint your eyes with eye salve, that you may see.  As many as I love, I rebuke and chasten. Therefore be zealous and repent.  Behold, I stand at the door and knock. If anyone hears My voice and opens the door, I will come in to him and dine with him, and he with Me.”

Revelation 3:16‭-‬20 

We must realize our need to repent and change our thinking. We need Jesus in order to see the father. He is the way, the truth, and the life. Our righteousness must be from Christ not from our works. His desire is to come in and have fellowship with us.

“For the Scripture says, “Whoever believes on Him will not be put to shame.” For there is no distinction between Jew and Greek, for the same Lord over all is rich to all who call upon Him. For “whoever calls on the name of the Lord shall be saved.” How then shall they call on Him in whom they have not believed? And how shall they believe in Him of whom they have not heard? And how shall they hear without a preacher? And how shall they preach unless they are sent? As it is written: “How beautiful are the feet of those who preach the gospel of peace, Who bring glad tidings of good things!”

Romans 10:11‭-‬15

There’s no discrimination in Gids heart. Sending leads to preaching. Preaching leads to hearing. Hearing leads to belief. Belief lead to calling on him. Calling on him leads to salvation. Be the persistent widow and keep pressing in. God’s desire is to give the Holy Spirit to all who ask him.

“For then I will restore to the peoples a pure language, That they all may call on the name of the Lord , To serve Him with one accord.

Zephaniah 3:9 NKJV

Calling on the name of the Lord is prayer. God wants it the way it was back in Eden. There’s a peace that comes when we believe. He’s heard our prayer and the answer is coming. 

“For unto us a Child is born, Unto us a Son is given; And the government will be upon His shoulder. And His name will be called Wonderful, Counselor, Mighty God, Everlasting Father, Prince of Peace.”

Isaiah 9:6 

Know the name of the person you’re calling. These names are here so we know who to call. Will faith remain in us when the culture is faithless? Will lovr remain in us when the love of the culture has gone cold?

“At that time Michael shall stand up, The great prince who stands watch over the sons of your people; And there shall be a time of trouble, Such as never was since there was a nation, Even to that time. And at that time your people shall be delivered, Every one who is found written in the book. And many of those who sleep in the dust of the earth shall awake, Some to everlasting life, Some to shame and everlasting contempt. Those who are wise shall shine Like the brightness of the firmament, And those who turn many to righteousness Like the stars forever and ever.”

Daniel 12:1‭-‬3 

There’s eternity that lives in God’s heart. Let go of the things in this life and be free.

Leave a Reply

