Thoughts For Thursday : Loose The Power Of Heaven 

Good morning, everyone! Happy Thursday! I hope all of you are enjoying this great week. I thank God for his amazing blessings and mercies. He is so good and so worthy of all the glory, honor, and praise.

My students have spring break this week which means I have the week off. I traveled to Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania to visit one of my good friends, Barry. (Barry went on the Jamaica trip last summer. Go into the archives to read about our adventures.) I’m having such an amazing time. I’m feeling rejuvenated and refreshed and I love taking in all that the city has to offer.

Barry works for a ministry called Roots of Faith and it’s been awesome seeing their impact in the community. On Tuesday, Barry led a prayer call and gave an amazing sermon. He talked about the power of Jesus’s resurrection and how death no longer has the power or sting it used to have. The lifeblood of Jesus now resides in our hearts. Based on this revelation we should choose life. I was reminded to live for Jesus with all that is within me. I’m thankful for what Jesus did in me and I will live this life so others can know him.

Another of Barry’s points, and this one spoke volumes to me, was to approach God in prayer as a father and to trus and believe in him for my requests. This is something that Pastor Josh had preached about awhile ago and this message was revitalize for me. Jesus says:

“Ask, and it will be given to you; seek, and you will find; knock, and it will be opened to you.

Matthew 7:7 NKJV

It’s important to come to God in prayer, present our requests, and continually seek him. Another verse that Barry explained has helped to change the way I’ve been praying.

“Assuredly, I say to you, whatever you bind on earth will be bound in heaven, and whatever you loose on earth will be loosed in heaven.”

Matthew 18:18 NKJV

Barry talked about the account of Elisha and how he called down power from heaven to bring life back into the Shunammite’s son (2 Kings 4:8-32) We have that same power. We don’t have to accept things as they are. We can walk in this power and see change happen through our prayers just as Elisha did and just many others in the bible have.

I’m thankful for this message and I’m going to loose the power that I have access to in my prayers. I desire to see change in my family, friends, and workplace. I hope you are encouraged to do the same. Believe for change to come and that God is able to make all things possible.

Leave a Reply

